Home » Research » Focus » Research Focus: Biochemistry

Research Focus: Biochemistry

Biochemistry is the study of the molecular basis of life.  Biochemists investigate the structure, function, and mechanisms of molecules found in nature, seeking to understand how these work in concert from bacteria to man.  Understanding function at a molecular level not only provides us with insight about the underpinnings of life and its evolution, but allows us to directly tackle unsolved questions in human disease and improve the quality of life.

Faculty in this Research Focus Area

Michael Brown
Professor of Chemistry & Biochemistry, Professor of Physics, Professor of Applied Mathematics
mfbrown@email.arizona.edu
520-621-2163

Pascale Charest
Associate Professor, MCB
pcharest@email.arizona.edu
520-626-2916

Matthew Cordes
Associate Professor
cordes@email.arizona.edu
520-626-1175

John Enemark
Regents Professor Emeritus - Retired
jenemark@email.arizona.edu
520-621-2245

Indraneel Ghosh
Professor
ghosh@email.arizona.edu
520-621-6331

Marie-Pierre Hasne
Assistant Professor of Practice, Diversity Champion, Liaison with the College of Medicine-Tucson
hasnem@email.arizona.edu
626-0858

N.C. Horton
Professor, MCB
nhorton@email.arizona.edu
520-626-3828

Victor Hruby
Regents Professor Emeritus - Retired
hruby@email.arizona.edu
520-621-6332

John Jewett
Associate Professor
jjewett@email.arizona.edu
520-626-3627

Nam Lee
Associate Professor, Chemistry and Biochemistry - Med, Associate Professor, Pharmacology
namlee@email.arizona.edu
520-626-1972

Michael Marty
Associate Professor
mtmarty@arizona.edu
520-621-1501

Roger L Miesfeld
Distinguished Professor
rlm@arizona.edu
520-626-1925

Katrina Miranda
Associate Professor
kmiranda@email.arizona.edu
520-626-3655

William Montfort
Professor
montfort@arizona.edu
520-621-1884

Chad Park, PhD
Associate Professor of Practice
ckpark@email.arizona.edu
520-621-7118

Suchi Perera
Instructor
suchi@email.arizona.edu
520 621-3607

Robin Polt
Professor, Chemistry & Biochemistry, BIO5 Institute Founding Member, Professor, Pharmacology and Toxicology, Professor, Neuroscience
polt@u.arizona.edu
520-370-2654

Jacob Schwartz
Assistant Professor, Chemistry and Biochemistry-Med, Assistant Professor, Chemistry and Biochemistry-Sci, Assistant Professor, Neuroscience - GIDP
jcschwartz@email.arizona.edu
520-621-0877

Marc Tischler
Professor, Chemistry and Biochemistry-Med, Professor, Chemistry and Biochemistry-Sci, Professor, Medicine
tischler@email.arizona.edu
520-626-6130

Gordon Tollin
Regents Professor Emeritus - Retired
gtollin@email.arizona.edu

Thomas Tomasiak
Assistant Professor, Chemistry and Biochemistry
tomasiak@email.arizona.edu
520-621-1067

F. Ann Walker
Regents Professor Emerita - Retired
awalker@email.arizona.edu
520-621-8645

Dale P Woolridge
Professor, Emergency Medicine - (Clinical Scholar Track), Professor, Pediatrics - (Academic Appointment)
dale@aemrc.arizona.edu
(520) 626-6312