American Chemical Society (ACS) Hach Land Grant Scholarship for Chemistry Teachers

Clifford and Kitty Hach, Founders of the Hach Company, established the Hach Scientific Foundation in 1982 to encourage students to pursue chemilsty at the undergraduate level.  Two decades later, the Foundation narrowed its focus in response to the high demand of chemistry education at the secondary level. READ MORE ABOUT THE HACH LAND GRANT SCHOLARSHIP PROGRAM.

This scholarship is available to undergraduate chemistry and biochemistry students who are pursuing careers as high school Chemistry Teachers!

  • Be a full-time undergraduate student at the UA majoring in Chemistry
  • Demonstrate an interest in Chemistry Education
  • Have a GPA at least 3.0; and 
  • Be a citizen or permanent resident of the United States

  • Preference will be given to applicants who have shown an interest in a chemistry teaching career.
  • Preference will be given to students with demonstrated financial need when deciding between equally-qualified candidates.
  • Selection shall be made without regard to race, color, religion, sex, national origin, age, disability, veteran status, sexual orientation, gender identity or other protected category.
  • This scholarship is renewable at $10,000 per year, given that the student remains at the University of Arizona and eligible according to the above criteria.
  • Funds will be distributed through the scholarship recipient’s Bursar account ($5,000 for Fall, $5,000 for Spring) for each award year.

  • Update the Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry with valid contact information (name and address) as necessary. 
  • Be photographed for a biographical statement that will be sent to the Donor.
  • Provide a short statement of intent addressing their aspiration of contributing to the teaching profession.
  • Respond annually to HSF with a brief statement of their career status for the first six years after graduation. This can be sent to in the form of a letter, email, or phone call.

Ben Augustine, Spring 2024

Meghan Davis & Aiden Conner, 2023-2024

Zach Stebner, Spring 2023

Meghan Davis, 2022-2023

Kierra Garland & Omar Solis Acuna, 2021-2022

Alyssa Jean Peterson & Kierra Garland, 2020-2021

Jessica Forelli & Alyssa Jean Peterson, 2019-2020

Jessica Forelli & Aurora Hurtado Olivas, 2018-2019

Jessica Forelli, Fall 2017-2018

Sona Avetian, 2016-2017

Abigail Rasmussen, 2016-2017

Karey M. Armenta, 2015-2016

Karey M. Armenta, 2014-2015

Melissa Espindola, 2012-2013

Kimberly Heisterkamp, 2012-2013 

Melissa Espindola, 2011-2012

Kimberly Heisterkamp, 2011-2012

Cassandra Anderson, 2010-2011

Allena Goren, 2010-2011

Cassandra Anderson, 2009-2010

Rebekkah Diamond, 2009-2010

Cassandra Anderson, 2008-2009

Rebekkah Diamond, 2008-2009

Rachel Hochberg, Fall 2008

Neal Hartman, 2007-2008

Cassandra Anderson, Fall 2007