Home » Dr. Harold McNair Staff Award

Dr. Harold McNair Staff Award

Dr. Harold McNair, who received his B.S. in Chemistry at the University of Arizona, was invited to the University of Arizona to receive an honorary alumni award from the Department of Chemistry in 2008. During his visit, he had the opportunity to talk to and interact with Chemistry staff members and was so impressed by the depth, tal­ent, and dedication of the individuals he met, that he decided to set up an award to honor these outstanding individuals.


The McNair Staff Award honors CBC staff members who have dedicated service to the Chemistry and Biochemistry Department. Winners are recognized for exceptional performance, making them valued and knowledgeable employees of the Department.


All permanent CBC staff members (Classified and Appointed Personnel) who have worked in the department for at least one year are eligible to receive this prestigious award. Prior recipients must wait 3 years before becoming eligible again to receive the award in the 4th year. Click here to see which classified staff and appointed personnel are eligible for the 2017 award.

award criteria

This award honors staff members for their exemplary service to the CBC Department during their years of service, with special emphasis on their contributions in the previous academic year.  A Harold McNair Staff awardee is a role model for faculty, staff and students in the areas of innovation and creativity, communication and collaboration, and altruistic service to the department. Each year, three awards of $1,000 each will be given to the individual staff members who best meet these nomination criteria.


selection process

A call for nominations will go out at the end of each academic year. Nomination packets for the Harold McNair Staff Award will be vetted by the CBC Department Staff Awards Committee in order to formulate recommendations for the CBC Department Head who will make the final selection. The awardees will be announced at the Departmental Breakfast in August each year.

CBC faculty, staff and students may submit nominations.


  • TBA, 2017
  • Andrei Astachkine, Martin Marquez II & Ellie Warder, 2016
  • Michael Morris & Beth Vinson, 2015
  • L. Dionne Johnson & Steve Brown, 2014
  • Amanda Wentzel & Scott Dreisbach, 2013
  • Mary Griffin & Max Yslas, 2012
  • Lori Boyd, Laura Lustro, Olivia Mendoza and Anne Padias, 2011
  • Sujeewa Perrera & Malik Hawkins, 2010