Home » Spotlight » PAWS Elects New Officers for 2019-20

PAWS Elects New Officers for 2019-20

The Program to Advance Women Scientists (PAWS) announces the election of officers for 2019-20:

  • Megan Molina, Outreach Chair
  • Allison Smith, Treasurer
  • Alyssa Werner, Secretary
  • Natasha Cornejo, Vice President
  • Holly Sofka, President
  • Agata Orlinski, Treasurer
  • Keerthana Kesavan, Professional Development Chair
  • Anna Eitel, Social Chair (not pictured)

The mission of PAWS is to empower women in the sciences through education, leadership, mentoring, and support. We hold seminars, professional development workshops, and outreach events. PAWS was first established in the CBC department during the Fall of 2015, and we are rapidly growing with members across departments at the UA. For professional development, we hold monthly seminars featuring faculty from different departments across UA as well as industry.  In addition, we hold an annual public speaking workshop featuring renowned speech coach Kathryn Kellner. PAWS is also very active in outreach! We hold a booth in the Science City at the Tucson Festival of Books each year. PAWS also started an annual visit to Girls Excelling in Math and Science (GEMS) at Mansfeld Magnet Middles School where we do demos and talk about different science opportunities.  We also participate in Expanding Your Horizons conferences where we perform demos and hands-on activities for women and minorities.

Please visit the PAWS website for more information.