Home » Spotlight » 2015 CBC Catalyst Awards

2015 CBC Catalyst Awards

Professor Robin Polt won 1st place honors in the 2015 Catalyst Award competition for earning the highest applied science metrics as calculated by the UA College of Science. He is a contributing scientist to ProNeurogen, Inc., a peptide chemistry company founded by Physiology Professor Meredith Hay. Professor Polt is also a contributing scientist to GlycoSurf, a local Tucson biosurfactant company co-founded by CBC Professor Jeanne Pemberton and Bio5 Professor Raina Maier. He was awarded several exclusive license agreements in 2015.

The CBC Catalyst Awards honor faculty for outstanding achievements in Applied Chemical Science during the previous calendar year based on metrics developed by Tech Launch Arizona, the technology transfer and commercialization division of The University of Arizona. The weighted metrics take into account the number of 1) provisional patents, 2) full patent applications filed, 3) issued patents, 4) option agreements, 5) license agreements, 6) launched start-up companies in that year, and 7) contributions to existing companies.

Other winners of the 2015 CBC Catalyst Awards were CBC Professors Jeff Pyun (2nd Place), Jon Njardarson (3rd place), Jeanne Pemberton (4th place), and John Jewett (5th place).

The 2015 CBC Catalyst Awards were sponsored by Nguyen & Tarbet Law and the UA College of Science, each of which donated $5,000 in prize money that was awarded in weighted increments to these top five finishers.