Home » Research Group » John Enemark - Brief Biosketch

John Enemark - Brief Biosketch

Regents Professor Emeritus
University of Arizona

1962 - St. Olaf College, Northfield, Minnesota, B.A. (Chemistry)
1964 - Harvard University, A.M., (Chemistry), R. H. Holm, thesis director
1966 - Harvard University, Ph.D., (Chemistry), W. N. Lipscomb, Jr., thesis director

1966-68 - Postdoctoral Research Associate with Professor J.A. Ibers, Department of Chemistry,
                  Northwestern University, Evanston, Illinois
1968-72 - Assistant Professor of Chemistry, University of Arizona
1972-77 - Associate Professor of Chemistry, University of Arizona
1977-98 - Professor of Chemistry, University of Arizona
1998-06 - Regents Professor, University of Arizona
2006-present – Regents Professor Emeritus, University of Arizona
2006-present - Adjunct Professor of Chemistry, University of New Mexico, Albuquerque, NM

1974-75 - Visiting Associate Professor of Chemistry, Research with Professor R.F. Fenske,
                  University of Wisconsin, Madison
1974-75 - Research with Professor W. H. Orme-Johnson, Department of Biochemistry, University
                  of Wisconsin, Madison
1981 - Senior Alexander von Humboldt Fellow, University of Bielefeld, Germany
1989, '95 - Sabbatical Leave Research with Professor E.I. Solomon, Stanford University
1989 - Fulbright Senior Scholar, La Trobe University and University of Sydney, Australia
1992 - Senior Alexander von Humboldt Fellow, Technical University of Munich, Germany
1995 - Visiting Associate in Chemistry, California Institute of Technology, Pasadena
2002 - Collaborative research with Prof. Fraser Armstrong, Oxford University, U.K. and Prof.
             R. Mendel, University of Braunschweig, Germany

1961 - Phi Beta Kappa
1963-65 - National Science Foundation Predoctoral Fellow
1965-66 - National Institutes of Health Predoctoral Fellow
1966-67 - National Science Foundation Postdoctoral Fellow
1971 - Fellow, American Association for the Advancement of Science
1981 - Senior Alexander von Humboldt Award
1987 - Faculty of Science Innovation in Teaching Award
1988 - University Teaching Center Fellow
1989 - Fulbright Senior Scholar Award
1992 - Senior Alexander von Humboldt Award (Reinvitation)
1994 - El Paso Natural Gas Foundation Faculty Achievement Award
1998 - Regents Professor, University of Arizona
2002 - Mortar Board Citation Award, University of Arizona Mortar Board National Senior
            Honor Society
2002 - University of Arizona Graduate College and Professional Education
            Teaching/Mentoring Award
2004 - Arizona Arts, Sciences and Technology Academy, Founding Fellow
2005 - College of Science Distinguished Career Teaching Award

1993  - Consultant for Honors Chemistry, University of Sydney, Australia 
1994-96, 1999-00 - Board of Editors, Inorganic Chemistry
1995 - ACS Nominations and Symposia Planning Committee of the Inorganic Division
1995 - AD Hoc Member, NIH Metallobiochemistry Study Section
1997, 2000, 2001, 2006, 2009 - Discussion Leader, Gordon Research Conference, Metals in
2000 - Member NSF-REU Proposal Review Panel 
2001 - Co-Vice Chair, Gordon Research Conference, Molybdenum and Tungsten Enzymes 
2003 - Co-Chair, Gordon Research Conference, Molybdenum and Tungsten Enzymes
2003-05 - Editorial Advisory Board, Journal of Biological Inorganic Chemistry
2004-  Editorial Board, Inorganic Chemistry Communications
2006 - Ad Hoc Member, NIH MSFA Study Section
2006 - Organizer of "Hemes and Heme Proteins:  A Symposium in Honor of Professor F. Ann
            Walker," 231st National Meeting, American Chemical Society, Atlanta, GA
2006-07, 2015 - Beckman Scholars Advisory Panel
2007-09 - NIH MSFA Study Section
2007-10 - Editorial Board, Journal of Inorganic Biochemistry
2009- present - Organizing Committee, Molybdenum and Tungsten Enzymes Conference
2010 - NSF Chemical Synthesis (SYN-3) Panel 
2010-12 - Member, College of CSR Reviewers, NIH

Alexander von Humboldt Association of America; American Association for the Advancement of Science; American Association of University Professors; American Chemical Society; American Crystallographic Association; Fulbright Association; Inorganic Biochemistry Discussion Group; International EPR (ESR) Society; Phi Beta Kappa; Society for Biological Inorganic Chemistry.

Bioinorganic chemistry, molybdenum-containing enzymes, pulsed EPR spectroscopy, X-ray crystallography, metal nitrosyls.

Over 260 papers published in journals or books.