Home » Jeff Pyun and Bob Norwood Honored by Governor

Jeff Pyun and Bob Norwood Honored by Governor

Story by Bob Parsons | Nov. 2, 2017 | Photo courtesy of Jeff Pyun

The Arizona Technology Council, in conjunction with the Arizona Commerce Authority, announced the winners of the 2017 Governor's Celebration of Innovation (GCOI) Awards. The state's science and technology innovators were celebrated at a prestigious gala attended by the top technology companies and leaders in Arizona.

"I want to congratulate all of the winners and nominees of this year’s GCOI Awards,” said Steven G. Zylstra, president and CEO, Arizona Technology Council. “As our technology community continues to grow, the bar for innovation is set higher and higher. This year’s winners represent the best and brightest companies and individuals our state has to offer.”

The winners in their respective categories are:

Company Award Winners:

    Innovator of the Year – Start-Up Company: Akos MD, LLC, Phoenix, Ariz.
    Innovator of the Year – Small Company: Paragon Space Development Corporation, Tucson, Ariz.
    Innovator of the Year – Academia: Professors Jeffrey Pyun, Robert (Bob) Norwood, Novel Polymeric Materials, University of Arizona, Tucson, Ariz. (in conjunction with collaborators Prof. Richard Glass (University of Arizona) and Prof. Kookheon Char (Seoul National University).

Chairman’s Award: Selected at the discretion of the Arizona Technology Council’s leadership, the Chairman’s Award was presented to Robert Witwer, Honeywell. Witwer dedicated over 40 years of his life to technology and recently retired from Honeywell as the Vice President of Advanced Technology. In his 39 years at Honeywell, Witwer strove to make it a place where people wanted to work, and stay. He has also been highly committed to promoting STEM education in Arizona, having personally inspired hundreds of students about the wonders of technology. Witwer served on the Council since 2011, and was chairman of the board for two years. He also served on the board of directors at the Challenger Space Center.

“Congratulations to tonight’s awardees, who represent the best of Arizona’s technology and innovation ecosystem,” said Sandra Watson, President & CEO of the Arizona Commerce Authority. “Their accomplishments are helping grow Arizona’s economy and advance our competitive position globally.”

Science and Technology Innovators and Leaders Celebrated at Arizona Technology Councils 2017 Governors Celebration of InnovationFriday, November 17, 2017Home