Home » Education » Undergraduate Studies » Scholarships and Funding Opportunities » Excellence Awards in the Biological Sciences

Excellence Awards in the Biological Sciences

The goal of the Excellence Awards in the Biological Sciences Endowment is to provide the maximum benefit for students as they pursue a career involving scientific studies of the molecular basis of life.


This endowment was established by an anonymous donor, who would like to encourage and challenge others to consider this unique opportunity to demonstrate their value of education and contribute to this or similar scholarship endowments.


  • Any student who is a freshman, sophomore, junior, or senior who will not graduate before May of the following year.
  • Students must submit the Excellence Awards in the Biological Sciences application, which includes providing a listing of their grades, the names of two faculty members to serve as references, an essay describing their interest and long-term goals, and a brief description state how they would benefit from this award. Academic standing will not be the only criterion considered.
  • The award amount is $1,000; the number of awards each year will vary.

2022 recipients

2021 recipients

2020 recipients

2019 recipients

2018 recipients

2017 recipients

2016 recipients

2015 recipients

2014 recipients

2013 recipients

  • Jorge Alvarez
  • Wesley Cai
  • Kevin Carlson

2012 recipients

  • none

2011 recipients


2010 recipients


2009 recipients


2008 recipients

  • Debra Bryan
  • Jason Espinoza
  • Megan Paul
  • Aleksandra Obradov

2007 recipients

  • Amy Alabaster
  • Jenna Fu
  • Abbas Tuli

2006 recipients

  • Alice Ferng
  • Sarae Hatch
  • Christina Kwong