Home » Analytical Zoom Invitational Seminar Consortium

Analytical Zoom Invitational Seminar Consortium

 

Who We Are:  The Analytical Zoom Invitational Seminar Consortium (AZisc) is a group of graduate analytical chemistry programs whose faculty have agreed to be included on a list of those willing to give seminars by Zoom to other programs on their research. Academic year 2020-20221 is the pilot year for this program involving 14 analytical chemistry graduate programs. AZisc is intended to provide a mechanism to promote close cooperation among analytical chemistry graduate programs in enhancing the breadth and depth of research in modern chemical analysis to which our graduate student populations are exposed. This program is not intended to replace in-person seminars but to supplement such programs in a cost- and time-effective manner. 

How It Works:  The faculty listed below (with seminar titles) have agreed to be receptive to invitations to present their research by Zoom from any of the other consortium programs sometime during the 2020-2021 academic year. Individual programs should feel free to invite as few or as many individuals from this list and to negotiate the details of seminar dates and expectations with the invited faculty members. Faculty members on this list are free to accept as many or as few invitations as they wish and to negotiate the terms of these presentations with their virtual hosts. 

For future years, participating programs will be polled in May/June of each year to establish the list of their faculty members who wish to participate for the upcoming academic year, and this web page will be updated with that information. Faculty are free to decide in which years they wish to participate in this program. If deemed successful by a majority of the programs involved in the pilot, AZisc will be continually expanded to add new participating analytical chemistry programs. 

Participating Institutions: Faculty names, seminar titles and contact information is provided below for the 2020-2021 academic year.

 

Colorado State University

Joseph A. DiVerdi (joseph.diverdi@colostate.edu)

Analytic Applications: Chemistry of Hemp and Cannabis – Experiences from Our First-time Course

Chuck Henry (chuck.henry@colostate.edu)

Low-Cost Microfluidic Sensors for Bacteria and Virus Detection

OR

Instrumented Tissue-in-a-Chip: A Bridge from In Vitro to In Vivo

Justin Sambur (justin.sambur@colostate.edu)

Nanoscale Imaging of Energy Conversion and Storage Systems

Alan Van Orden (alan.van_orden@colostate.edu

Time-Resolved Super-Resolution Microscopy for Lifetime Imaging of Semiconductor Nanostructures

 

Iowa State University

Robbyn Anand (rkanand@iastate.edu)

Revealing Cell-to-cell Differences that Drive Disease: Electrokinetic and Electrochemical Methods of Single-cell Analysis

 

Michigan State University

Gary Blanchard  (blanchard@chemistry.msu.edu)

Understanding Organization and Dynamics in Room Temperature Ionic Liquids

OR

Using Time Resolved Spectroscopy to Elucidate Organization in Heterogeneous Systems

Liangliang Sun  (lsun@chemistry.msu.edu)

Improving Separation and Characterization of Proteoforms using Capillary Electrophoresis-Mass Spectrometry

Greg Swain (swain@chemistry.msu.edu)

Electrochemical Methods Applied to Study Neuroeffector Signaling in the Peripheral Nervous System

OR

Recent Advances in Carbon Electrode Materials and Their Application in Electroanalytical Chemistry

OR

The Electrochemical Behavior of Nanostructured Carbon Electrodes in Room Temperature Ionic Liquids

 

Ohio State University

Abraham Badu-Tawiah (badu-tawiah.1@osu.edu)

Panoptic Mass Spectrometry: How and Why 

L. Robert Baker (baker.2364@osu.edu)

Probing Electron Dynamics and Surface Chemistry at Catalytic Interfaces

Anne Co (co.5@osu.edu)

Innovations in Electrochemical Energy Conversion and Storage

Amanda Hummon (hummon.1@osu.edu

Imaging Mass Spectrometry of Three-Dimensional Cell Cultures and Organoids

Susan Olesik (olesik.1@osu.edu)

Improved Separations and Mass Spectral Detection Using Nanofibers

Zachary Schultz (schultz.133@osu.edu)

Plasmonics in Trace Detection and Nano-imaging

Vicki Wysocki (wysocki.11@osu.edu)

Native Mass Spectrometry Guided Structural Biology: Protein and Nucleoprotein Complexes

 

Purdue University

W. Andy Tao (taow@purdue.edu)

Proteomics: from Virus Infection to Disease Diagnostics

Chi Zhang (zhan2017@purdue.edu)

Coherent Raman Imaging for Single-cell Analysis

Hilkka Kenttamaa (hilkka@purdue.edu)

New Approaches for Structural Characterization of Unknown Organic Compounds in Mixtures by Tandem Mass Spectrometry

Julia Laskin (jlaskin@purdue.edu)

New Developments in Preparative and Imaging Mass Spectrometry

Shelley Claridge (claridge@purdue.edu)

Bioinspired Control and Characterization of Nanoscale Interface Structure

Gaurav Chopra (gchopra@purdue.edu)

Engineering Chemical and Cellular Immunology

     

University of Arizona

Craig A. Aspinwall (aspinwal@arizona.edu)

Nanoparticles and Nanopores – Small Sensor for Big Problems

Michael Leandro Heien (mheien@arizona.edu)

Tracking Tonic and Phasic Signaling of Neurotransmitters in Vivo

Michael T. Marty (mtmarty@arizona.edu)

Combining Mass Spectrometry and Nanodiscs to Uncover Interactions of Membrane Proteins and Peptides in Lipid Bilayers

Jeanne E. Pemberton (pembertn@arizona.edu)

Exploring the Structure-Function-Stability Relationship in Organic Electronic Materials

OR

New Functional Materials Based on Sugars

S. Scott Saavedra (saavedra@arizona.edu)

Poly(Lipid) Supramolecular Assemblies: Structure, Protein Functionalization, and Bioanalytical Applications

OR

Structure and Charge Transfer Kinetics at Organic Monolayer/Oxide Interfaces Probed using Waveguide Spectroelectrochemistry – Toward Understanding and Enhancing the Efficiency of Organic Electronic Devices

 

University of California at Riverside

Quan “Jason” Cheng (quanc@ucr.edu)

Empowering Label-Free Biosensing with 3D Printing and Aluminum Plasmonics

James Davies (jfdavies@ucr.edu)

Exploring the Physicochemical and Optical Properties of Aerosol using Single Particle Levitation

Joseph Genereux (josephg@ucr.edu)

Hsp40 Affinity to Identify the Toxin-Destabilized Proteome

Ryan Julian (ryan.julian@ucr.edu)

Hunting Isomers with Mass Spectrometry to Unravel the Mechanism Behind Aging

Min Xue (min.xue@ucr.edu)

Bioanalytical and Chemical Biology Applications of Cyclic Peptides

Yinsheng Wang  (yingsheng.wang@ucr.edu)

A Tale of Two Guanine Quadruplex-binding Proteins

Linlin Zhao (linlin.zhao@ucr.edu)

Enrichment and Single-Nucleotide Sequencing of Abasic DNA Lesions

Haofei Zhang (haofei.zhang@ucr.edu)

New Insights into Alpha-pinene Ozonolysis and Secondary Organic Aerosol Formation Mechanism using Advanced Mass Spectrometry Techniques

Wenwan Zhong (wenwan.zhong@ucr.edu)

Supramolecular Receptor Arrays for Recognition of Folding in Nucleic Acids

     

University of Iowa

To be named

               

University of Michigan

To be named

 

University of Minnesota

Edgar Ariaga (arriaga@umn.edu)

Lanthanides to the Rescue - Mass Cytometry Analysis of Single Cells and Organelles

Phillipe Buhlmann (buhlmann@umn.edu)

Electrochemical Ionophore-Based Sensors: From Fluorous Polymers to Nanoporous Carbon and Lipophilic Redox Buffer Polymers

OR

Addressing Stress and Mental Health in (Chemistry) Graduate Education

Christy Haynes (chaynes@umn.edu)

Design and Redesign of Sustainable Nanomaterials

OR

Optimized Carbon Dots: Green Imaging Agents at the Nano-Bio Interface

 

University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

Jeffrey Dick (jedick@email.unc.edu)

Nano-reactor Electroanalysis

Matthew Lockett (mlockett@unc.edu)

Tissue Papers: A Quantitative Culture Platform to Evaluate Microenvironmental Effects on Cellular Responses in 3D Tissue-like Constructs

Mark Schoenfisch (schoenfisch@unc.edu)

Improving the Performance of Percutaneously Implanted Glucose Biosensors via Nitric Oxide Release

 

University of Notre Dame

Paul Bohn (pbohn@nd.edu)

Multifunctional Nanophotonics for Chemical Analysis and Processing of Mass-Limited Samples

OR

Molecular Messaging - The Spatiotemporal Dynamics of Chemical Signals Used to Organize Communities of Microbial Pathogens

Merlin Breuning (mbruenin@nd.edu)

Microporous Membranes for Protein Purification, Digestion, and Analysis

OR

Membrane-based Methods for Highly Selective Ion Separations

Jon Camden (jon.camden@gmail.com)

Breaking the Thiol Barrier: Using N-Heterocyclic Carbene's as a Robust Nanoparticle Functionalization Platform

Matthew Champion(Matthew.M.Champion.8@nd.edu)

Electrophoretic Separation of Bacteriophage Isolates by Morphological Class

OR

Mass-spectrometry Based Detection of the Small-protein 'Sprot' Proteome by Anti-proteome Approaches Yeager

Marya Lieberman (mlieberm@nd.edu)

Creating Inexpensive Analytical Devices for Citizen Science

Rebecca Whelan (rwhelan1@nd.edu)

Diverse Analytical Approaches to Ovarian Cancer Biomarker Detection

 

University of Utah

John C. Conboy (conboy@chem.utah.edu)

A Practical Label-Free Small-Molecule Immunoassay using Second Harmonic Detection Phospholipid Flip-Flop in Membranes, the Measurement Method Makes All the Difference

Ming Hammond (ming.hammond@utah.edu)

Illuminating the Single-Cell Biology and Function of Chemical Signals

Joel Harris (harrisj@chem.utah.edu)

Spectroscopy through the Microscope: Chemical Analysis at Liquid/Solid Interfaces

Shelley Minteer (shelley.minteer@utah.edu)

Direct and Mediated Bioelectrocatalysis for Biosensing Applications

Gabe Nagy (gabe.nagy@utah.edu)

Towards Rapid Carbohydrate Sequencing: High-Resolution Cyclic Ion-Mobility Separations Coupled to Mass Spectrometry

Marc Porter (marc.porter@utah.edu)

Thiols on Gold: What We Know Now and Did Not Know Then

Jennifer Shumaker-Parry (shumaker@chem.utah.edu)

Designer Plasmonic Architectures

Henry White (white@chemistry.utah.edu)

Physics and Electrochemistry of Nanobubbles

OR

Coupled Electron- and Phase-Transfer Reactions

Ilya Zharov (I.Zharov@utah.edu)

Functional Nanoporous Materials from “Hairy” Nanoparticle Building Blocks

 

University of Washington

Matt Bush (mattbush@uw.edu)

New Mass Spectrometry Tools for Understanding the Structure and Function of Proteins

Rob Synovec (synovec@chem.washington.edu)

Comprehensive Two-dimensional Gas Chromatography with Time-of-flight Mass Spectrometry and Chemometrics: Application to Biomarker Discovery and Predictive Modeling of Aerospace Fuel Properties

Ashliegh Theberge (abt1@uw.edu)

Studying Cell Signaling in Complex Environments with Open Microfluidics